Get Birth Certificate Online

[Update: Nov 2015] You may go to one of several VLE in your locality obtained from MahaOnline to get your birth certificate. Not only that, citizens can obtain various useful documents such as 7/12 Extract, Residence Certificate, caste certificate etc. through these Maha-E-Seva centers. Source – Times of India news of Sep 10.

[Update: Apr 2012] The online system is completely broken for citizens. Even though decentralization was done in 2009 and 14 ward offices were supposed to ease Kasba Peth’s burden, the same is not effective from my personal experience.

[Update: May 2011] According to Times of India report: Citizens have said that the status of complaint does not change for months, on the online redressal system once it is forwarded to the departments concerned. I have used http://punecorporation.org/pmcwebn/ptax/ptaxhome.asp to pay my property tax. They have a demo for the same as well. There is a lot of utility on PMC corporation site, but most are non0fucntional, incl online birth certificate. PMC has claimed since May 2008, that online birth certificate is possible.

[Update: March 2011] The site has not been accessible for a couple of years now. So, I decided to file a complaint at PMC e-governance site. They have given me a complaint number. I was quite impressed actually. I immediately got an SMS and they mentioned GRS helpline number – (020) 6634 4203.

Number :751666360
Complaint about :Statistic & Computer
Complaint Description  :http://punecorporation.org:8888/onlineassesment/faces/property/PrintCertificates.jspx is not accessible.
Resolution time : 2 days
Date of Registration  :3/11/2011 8:23:52 AM
Complaint assigned to  :Vishwanath Sabani
Ward Office number :25501000
Ward Office address: Pune Municipal Corporation, Shivaji Nagar, Pune.

[end of Updates]

According to Pune Municipal document, it is compulsory register birth and death within 21 days. Pune Municipal Corporation has improved it site for birth certificate. Now you can can not easily print birth certificate, even though the eGovernance report says so.

http://www.punecorporation.org:8888/onlineassesment/faces/property/PrintCertificates.jspx

Following details are required.

  • Normal & Delayed Registration
  • Child Details – Gender, DOB, Time, Weight, Name, Birth Place etc.
  • Parent Details – Name, Address, Qualification, Occupation
  • Delivery Method, Informant Details, Attachments in case of delayed registrations
About prasoonk

Prasoon Kumar grew up in the Bokaro Steel City of south Bihar, now Jharkhand. He studied Computer Science and Engineering in IIT Kanpur. For job he moved to the land of opportunity United States. He was there in the bay area through the internet revolution of mid to late nineties. He spent time admiring the beautiful coastline of California among other things. He moved east coast to the New York after the turn of the millennium working in a brokerage startup. Afterwards, he is back to India for the past few years. He has been working in the internet startup, enjoying the city life. He has a beautiful wife, a young 5 years old daughter and 11 years old son.

Posted on March 12, 2009, in India, personal, Pune, Society & Culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. vijaya bamane

    My cousin sister who was born in pune 65 yrs ago needs her birth certificate.What is the procedure?

  2. This tread is too old however i thought of checking out if anyone can guide me towards the right direction. I want to obtain my Son’s Birth Certificate who is born on 31st August 2014 in Inamdar Hospital Pune. On 15th Sept ’14 i filled the PMC registrator form with the hospital and 2 other forms which they requested me to for birth certificate. The hospital provided me with the ‘Extract from Birth Register’, receipt and requested me to visit PMC after 15 days to get the certificate.

    Now i was going through few online blogs and found links in which it states i can check the name if registered and then print the Birth Certificate online or offline by filling another form.

    I went to the official website of PMC however it only has the option to download the form however there is no link or way to check if the name is registered.

    I have tried calling the PMC helpline and the number is just ringing!

    Can anyone guide me with the process of obtaining my son’s birth certificate.

    Also if i anyone knows the timing of PMC as on website it states 10:00AM to 5:30PM and 4:00PM to 5:30PM Certificate Collection time.

    I would appreciate your quidance.

  3. Dennis .shanta .maryia .navratinam arlappa 12 jan 1975 pune cantoment hospital

    good websites pls find for me I am getting my birth certificate pls

  4. https://prasoonk.wordpress.com/2009/03/12/get-birth-certificate-online/

    this is the link to download birth certificate form fill the form and submit it to PMC.

  5. whoah this weblog is fantwstic i like reading your articles.
    Stay up the great work! You recognize, a lot of people are searching around
    for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  6. Really informative page…Thanks

  7. Today, I faced the same problem. So I called PMC help line for the help. They are saying that you have to go to PMC office for the birth certificate. “By taking online print you will not Stamp and signature on Certificate.”

  8. atulkumar palande

    19.march 2010 i wanted to print my son birth certificate.
    but
    site is not working

  9. HI, my name is abdullah akbar shaikh i wanted a birth cetificate of my self my i was born on 2. 2.1985 at jhangir hospital my address is 1694 rs kedari road pune my cell num is 9689908601 thanks .

  10. Really informative blog post.Really thank you! Really Great.

  11. Fantastic article post.Really thank you! Cool.

  12. I really like and appreciate your article.Really looking forward to read more. Cool.

  13. Abhishek anil more

    pls give me birth certificate much as possible as for passport reason

  14. this is simply pathetic…if PMC don’t know how to provide any certificate online then should not provide any false news accross……

  15. Looks like pune mucipal corporation has realised that they cannot make chai paani paisa with online certificates,and have stopped the process of giving birth and death certificates online.

  16. I want the Birth Certificate of my niece viz. MS. FAIZIYA JAVED SHAIKH a resident of 197, Mahatma Gandhi Road, Camp, Pune – 411001 was born on 1st July, 1999 at Matru Seva Hospital, Quarter Gate, Pune – 411002 from Pune Municipal Corporation

    That as the Original Birth Certificate in the St. Clare Girl’s High School, Quarter Gate, Pune – 411002 for admission purpose and has been required urgently please give us the details online for the same and oblige. Please mail us on my email ID

  17. My son was born on 14.09.1985 and I have his manual birth certificate. However, when I went to get a computerised printout yesterday (05.04.2011) at the Kondhwa office of PMC, I was told this birth certificate is not registered in the computer system, asked to pay Rs.20/- and a receipt has been issued for “Birth Registration Certificate Issue Fee”, visit the Kasba Peth office in 8 days to get the registration formalities completed and then return to the Kondhwa office to get a printout of the birth certificate.

    Does one need to go personally to the Kasba Peth office personally? Can’t the PMC do the computerisation of all the birth records themselves?

  18. Aditi, as you can see in the update dated March 2011, I have registered a complaint with PMC e-governance portal regarding the same. I will update on the website, when I receive a reply from them in 2 days or whenever I get.

  19. aditi parchure

    i wanted to print my daughter’s birth certificate.
    bur site is not working

  20. I can see only advertisement ,site blocked ?

  21. The site does not work

  22. This link for printing birth certificate is not working. I saw many user comments on the PMC website itself about this problem, but God knows whats keeping them from rectifying this problem.

  23. how a get my NSO BIRTHCIRTIFICATE

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review « Random musings on Life, World, Technology

Comments - bouquets, brickbats?

